Many of us did not realize about our safety in Facebook, some are not aware about their own privacy. And how many of us know about this? I bet among 1000 people, only 10 or less know and realize that Facebook is not remove picture that been uploaded. This was proven by some of Facebook user which said after 3 years deleted their picture, that picture still existing in Facebook server! “And how that happen? I just deleted, I cannot see in my profile anymore” some users claimed. “Are you sure?” I asked them back. To prove that my statement is right, I asked him to upload a photo. Then after upload, copy the URL of image, then delete it. Example of picture that I was delete.
Yet still remaining in Facebook server. ( https://fbcdn-sphotos-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-ash4/457501_325470260860880_228751488_o.jpg * Yippie! Deleted it after 3 weeks) Just imagine if you uploaded a picture of you n#ked or inappropriate to be seen, regardless of privacy you set, people still can see it in facebook as long as they having that image URL.
Based on people who discovered, they say that photos “deleted” from Facebook seemingly never go away if you have a direct link to the image file on Facebook’s servers. Why is this happen? When we asked Facebook about it, we were told that the company was “working with our content delivery network (CDN) partner to significantly reduce the amount of time that backup copies persist.” writer at arstechnica.com email this issue to the Facebook spokesperson, and Frederic Wolens replied to Ars via email ”The systems we used for photo storage a few years ago did not always delete images from content delivery networks in a reasonable period of time even though they were immediately removed from the site,”
Do you honestly feel save after reading this? I do not think so, let see how long the picture above (given link) will be remove from Facebook server as we remove it from our profile at 30 May 2012. Until then, you can try you own self to see when you picture will be remove by Facebook. For security and privacy purposes, please do not upload any inappropriate picture of yourself or your friend in Facebook. Stay safe!
By the way, you can try some social network from Malaysia, here some recommendation :
pst: do support local social network ♥
* To all reader, Malay translation are not yet ready. You can always use google translate to read our post.
* Post updated, the picture removed after 3 weeks from facebook.